Opening Statement at the Inquiry into Drugs of Dependence (Personal Use) Amendment Bill 2021

On 30 July 2021 Bill Bush and Jan Lee gave evidence on behalf of Families and Friends for Drug law Reform to the Select Committee considering the Petterson Bill to decriminalise small quantities of all drugs including heroin and methamphetamine. In his introductory remarks Bill spoke to the attached statement which was before the three-member committee chaired by Peter Cain (Liberal), vice-chair Marisa Paterson (ALP) and Johnathan Davis (Greens). This version of the statement includes references to the submission of FFDLR. Email if you would like a hard copy of the full submission.
Altogether three other members of FFDLR appeared before the committee – Marion McConnell, Peter Taylor on 8 July and Adele Stevens who spoke for the Health Care Consumers Association on 30 July. Their submissions are available on the ACT Assembly website –

Opening Statement on behalf of FFDLR